Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

How to connect Q90R for Atmos?

(Topic created on: 09-04-2019 02:43 PM)
willzyx
Student
Options

Hello peeps. 

I'm new to 4k and Dolby Atmos and anything TV related (my previous TV was over 9 years old). I understand that QLED TVs don't support Atmos or Vision, but I'm planning to use the Q90R as a panel only. I will watch most of my stuff with Apple TV 4K, Xbox One X and Chromecast Ultra. I will skip all TV built-in apps. I understand that hardware listed above do actually support Atmos and Vision. I'm planning to get an Atmos capable soundbar. 

Is there anyway to connect all the gear to actually get Dolby Atmos and Vision? Do I have to connect them directly to the soundbar and then route it to OneConnect Box? 

0 Likes

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Solution
AntS
Options

Hi @willzyx:smiling-face:

One of my AV tech colleagues saw your post, and asked us to pass this on:

"The Q90 does support Dolby Atmos encoded Dolby Digital Plus signals, and is able to receive them from native apps or by HDMI, and is able to send to a Dolby Atmos capable soundbar via HDMI-ARC. In the UK, Netflix and Amazon apps on the TV support Dolby Digital Plus encoded with Dolby Atmos Metadata soundtracks where the content supports it.

The TV can't display Dolby Vision, but is compatible with HDR 10+, so the same functionality can be achieved by connecting the external devices directly to the TV, and feeding a Dolby Atmos capable soundbar via HDMI-ARC.

However, regarding Dolby TrueHD, you'll need to check if the connected devices can output DolbyTrueHD encoded with Dolby Atmos Metadata (e.g. UHD Blue-ray playback). As the TV does not support Dolby TrueHD, to enjoy that format, the devices will need to be connected directly to a compatible soundbar and the video signal 'passed through' to the TV."

Other members of the Community are welcome to add their own advice and experience, but I hope that helps you out! 

View solution in context