Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

How do I change the physical keyboard for Samsung Dex

(Topic created on: 25-02-2021 12:29 PM)
SteveWaring
Explorer
Options

Currently when I hit the " key it types an @ (American keyboard, not the English one I am using).

See screen shots. I navigated to phyical keyboard from Dex on my PC, and chose English UK (Android) but it still says English US.

UK was chosenUK was chosenIt made no difference.It made no difference.

32 REPLIES 32
AntS
Options

Hi @SteveWaring, Yep, I'm getting similar to you when I tried to replicate this on my UK S10 on DeX... except my one is the opposite way around. 😕🤔

S10_DeX Physical Keyboard.jpg

I couldn't change the 'Samsung Keyboard - English (UK)' main title, despite what I selected and appears below it.

Before I started playing around with it the 'Samsung Keyboard - English (UK)' was set as 'English (UK) Qwerty style'. 

The " key typed an @ (in Samsung Notes) when I selected the 'English (US) Qwerty style' though; and then back to a " again when I selected 'English (UK) Qwerty style'.

SteveWaring
Explorer
Options

No matter what keyboard I select, the keyboard stays as English US and just the language underneath changes and the key does not change. I've pretty much given up on using Dex as it's pretty unusable without proper keyboard mapping. It's a shame.

AntS
Options

It's odd. I still haven’t been able to replicate your exact experience (I played around with main device input language settings for example). I did discover how to change the Samsung Keyboard though:

Settings > General Management > Language and input > On-screen keyboard > Samsung Keyboard > Languages and types > Manage input languages > [enable/disable desired language option, or download from available languages]

I switched to it 'Samsung Keyboard- English (US)' and back again.

DeX_language screenshot02.jpg