Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad Samsung Support of Drivers on Linux Systems for the #GalaxyBook pro 360***

(Topic created on: 09-07-2022 05:46 PM)
Jefferson Marchetti
First Poster
Options

GalaxyBook pro 360 Linux Issues!!!! 

I need to use this computer with linux because I am a developer.

But I faced 3 rather annoying problems with Linux drivers:

- Internal speakers do not work
- Keyboard key lights not working
- Fingerprint does not work for faster login

When will Samsung provide drivers for professional customers as the DELL does?

Thank you    (*** be careful before buying if you are going to use with linux)

20 REPLIES 20
antikythera
Black Belt 
Options
I applaud you for trying to run Linux bare metal. Fingerprint scanners and Linux have rarely been a good combination but the keyboard may be addressable. Are you using Wayland or X11? If X11 try the command "xset led 3" and see if the backlight for keys comes on. Try 0 through 9 if it doesn't.

Do you get sound via headphones? Or does it just detect HDMI output?

There is an alternative if you just need to code in Linux for cross platform development purposes. The laptop is powerful enough to run a virtual instance via VirtualBox, VMWare or if you have Windows Pro installed Hyper-V. You could use WSL2 but it's clunky as hell so a proper VM or bare metal install is better still.
akisstsuki
Student
Options

im galaxybook flex 950qcg user , same issue on sound,  no speaker or headphones, noly works via usb external  audio card.  <ubuntu/ arch linux /manjaro > drive <alsa/oss> all not works

mkquist
First Poster
Options