Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samsung Email app update security settings

(Topic created on: 09-06-2020 04:21 PM)
MDTat
Apprentice
Options

Hi,

I've been using the Samsung Email app for a few months without any problems. However, today, I couldn't access my university email without activating some new security settings. This involves allowing the app to delete all data on my phone, lock the screen, set password rules, disable internet, encrypt my data, etc. These are all very intrusive things, and since it's my personal phone I can't accept this.

I contacted the university IT support, and they say it's the email app itself that requests this, not the university. I as therefore wondering if anyone else have similar problems, and is there a fix, other than using a different app, or setting everything up again from scratch?

Thank you!

19 REPLIES 19
AndrewL
Options
@MDTat: It sounds like the Email app needs to be granted admin access via a range of permissions, in order to be able to run on your device and perform certain actions. I understand your concerns, however you will be required to accept the permissions presented to you in order to continue accessing your University account externally via the Email app.
0 Likes
MDTat
Apprentice
Options

Sorry I forgot to mention this in the original post. I have no trouble accessing my other email accounts (Hotmail and Gmail). Why does the Email app require me to give it admin access specifically for my university email?

0 Likes
AndrewL
Options
@MDTat: It may be how the account is setup on the device e.g. POP, IMAP etc. I know that some providers do have additional restrictions in place when accessing email accounts on mobile devices, and this appears to be one of those instances.
0 Likes
MDTat
Apprentice
Options

But I did contact the IT at my university, and I was told they hadn't changed anything, and it's been working fine for months. Couldn't it be a recent update that caused this problem?

0 Likes
AndrewL