Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A technical question about battery charging

(Topic created on: 07-10-2022 09:56 PM)
Gino76ph
Pathfinder
Options

Hi. I have a very technical question on battery charging.

If say we compare the slow 25w charging of a Samsung phone (overnight from 11pm to 6am) against the fast 150w charging of a OnePlus phone in under 45 minutes to which device you guys would you say uses more electricity?

Hoping for an advice. Cheers. 

0 Likes
10 REPLIES 10
Gino76ph
Pathfinder
Options

And why is that?

0 Likes
dj9494
Voyager
Options
One plus will consume more electricity!!
150 X 45 is 6750
Samsung with 25 w will charge you mobile in 3 hours for sure. So 25 x180 is 4500.
Gino76ph
Pathfinder
Options

Forgive me for being ignorant as I'm not an expert in electricity and just wanted to be sure on ways I can save on my bills.

Are you certain this is how you compute electricity? Please Note I leave my Samsung charging for 7 hours (overnight) and not just for 3 hours. 

0 Likes
dj9494
Voyager
Options
Umm the units used by the device is time X watts . In our case its charging time X Watts. If you change for 7 hours than its gonna cost more. To be honest mobile charging cost is negligible with respect to the total electricity bill
dj9494
Voyager
Options
I would also recommend you not to charge your mobile overnight and put the charge limit thingy (80%) to have a better battery life. If its a year old mobile don't mind
Gino76ph
Pathfinder
Options

I'm aware the phone is a 2-year old model but take into account I bought it as brand new and Samsung has been very good in terms of pushing updates.

Whenever I charge my phone i turn off the battery saving and fast charging, kept Adaptive Battery and Protect Battery turned on.