Close

What are you looking for?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

How do I mute the startup sound on myA40? Replacement for S Planner?

(Topic created on: 17-09-2019 09:20 PM)
jbafalcon
Explorer
Options

Newbie here.

Hi. Just upgraded from my old trusty S3 to a new A40. I have found that the phones start-up wakes up the boss which is not a good idea at 05.00! I cannot find how to shut the start-up sound off.

Also.

The S Planner calendar on the S3 was brilliant, I could add a emogi to the appointment like a tick, pin, an X etc that was shown on the monthly or weekly calender, also the appointment was word wrapped:

john smithe

rstone

whereas the A40's is just one truncated line:

john smithe

Anyone suggest a replacement like the old S planner? Free or paid for without annoying ads would be bonus.

Thanks for any advice, I will probably be asking a lot of questions

0 Likes

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Solution
mastermind456
Explorer
Options

I'm pretty sure the startup sound is caused by notifications being received as the phone is switched on, so turn on vibrate mode when you shut it down. As for a replacement S planner, One UI 2.0 (the next major update coming in a month) will give the option to add stickers to calendar events.

View solution in context

8 REPLIES 8
Pampoo
Pioneer
Options

Hi, mate! It seems that there's no option to turn off the sound on start up. 

But I've found some option to disable it;

1. By changing the sound mode to silent(Settings> Sound and Vibration> Sound Mode> Silent).

2. By changing decreasing or turning off the volume of system sounds through Settings> Sounds and Vibration> Volume.

Hope that it might help! 

jbafalcon
Explorer
Options

Thanks for the reply and suggestions, I wil try them out. I have half a mind to stay with the S3, much easier/simpler to use. But maybe I just need more time with the A40 to sort it out!