Close

What are you looking for?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Voice Typing - Does not work offline even with language installed.

(Topic created on: 06-06-2022 12:46 PM)
New-To-Sam-sung
Journeyman
Options

I am new to using Samsung products and an inexperienced Android user. I have just bought an A52.

I cannot get voice typing to work in offline (airplane) mode. Regardless of the app I am using, when I have to enter text using voice typing I get the message "Didn't catch that. Try speaking again."

In the Permissions settings, I have "allow apps to use the microphone" enabled.

In the Keyboard List, "Google Voice Typing" and "Google Voice Typing Legacy" is enabled.

Initially, "Samsung Voice Typing" was also enabled, however I have disabled it in an effort to solve this problem, but without success.

In the main Google app, under Settings > Voice > Offline Speech Recognition, English is installed.

What troubleshooting steps would you recommend to solve this voice typing problem?

0 Likes
4 REPLIES 4
AndrewL
Options

@New-To-Sam-sung: Can you try heading to Settings > General management > Keyboard list and default > Google voice typing > Languages, and tap the box to the left of your preferred language. Now, when the Samsung Keyboard is open e.g. when composing a text message, tap the microphone symbol in the Keyboard Toolbar, and clearly dictate your message. You may have to tap the large microphone symbol at the bottom of the screen, if you wait too long after initially pressing the mic symbol in the toolbar. Le me know if this helps. 

New-To-Sam-sung
Journeyman
Options

Thanks Andrew for the reply.  I have gone to Settings > General management > Keyboard list and default > Google voice typing > Languages and English is set to the preferred language.

When I try to dictate a message using Google Voice, I am still unable to get it to work, even though English is set as the offline speech recognition language.