Close

What are you looking for?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

Auto Motion Plus not available for USB video playback

(Topic created on: 22-12-2021 09:40 AM)
1387 Views
Snowwraith
Student
Options

Hello,

I've recently purchased a QE65Q60A TV to replace an ancient 1080p display for an equally aging media PC.

Because the media PC is not up to the task of 4k playback I tried to use the USB playback feature of the TV.

Although the TV could play the media, it did so with the screen smoothing in place, scaling content up to 60fps, whereas I wanted the 24fps of the original movie.

I found, after a bit of digging, that the culprit is "Auto Motion Plus".  For some reason this option is greyed out and I'm unable to turn this "feature" off.  I had read on the Net that you can only turn off AM+ for content that is either streamed or through an HDMI port, but this seems a rather odd restriction so I hoped I could find a definitive answer or solution here.

Thanks for reading.

0 Likes

1 Solution


Accepted Solutions
Solution
xSteveuk
Mastermind
Options
Hi,
Try Below

Samsung's Smart Hub app will block some menu options while it is open.

On the remote
Hold down the Back or Return button until your television returns to the previous screen.
This should mean your previously opened app has closed.

View solution in context

3 REPLIES 3
xSteveuk
Mastermind
Options
Hi,
This page maybe helpful

Motion smoothing and the soap opera effect on Samsung TVs

https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS00080741/
0 Likes
Snowwraith
Student
Options

Thank you for replying.

Unfortunately the webpage you have linked shows how to change the AM+ settings.

My problem is that those settings are greyed out and cannot be selected when viewing content from the USB ports of the TV.

0 Likes
Solution
xSteveuk
Mastermind
Options
Hi,
Try Below

Samsung's Smart Hub app will block some menu options while it is open.

On the remote
Hold down the Back or Return button until your television returns to the previous screen.
This should mean your previously opened app has closed.