Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A more detailed camera review...

(Topic created on: 15-02-2023 08:46 PM)
GusB
Big Cheese
Options
To be clear, I am not a professional photographer nor am I affiliated with Samsung...I am a photography 'enthusiast' 😁

Following a couple days in London with the family...I was able to better test the camera system with some observations:

The Good

In short, the new sensor can take some INCREDIBLE shots and for me, the sweet spot for the 'enthusiast' is the 50mp mode. 200mp shots are good but.. that file size.. 🤦. The 50's are notably softer (in a good way) then the standard 12's which incomparisons seem too sharp. It might be subtle to some, but it's a far more pleasing photo with a more DSLR look.

To illustrate (no edit)

50mp - soft, yet detailed with depth (focus is on background)

12mp - very sharp and loses some atmosphere (focus is on background, but foreground also seems focused which loses depth)

Another example:

50mp

12mp

Natural bokeh (background blur / i.e not portrait mode / artificial blur) is good which means you can get close focussed images like this with a blurred background:

12mp

12mp

Including at night:

12mp

Portrait mode is excellent, I generally found myself lowering it to 3 or less for a more natural fall off / blur

Portrait mode - Illustrated here by my mate Barry the bulldog

The Bad

Ok take the word 'bad' here with a pinch of salt, this is not BAD but it would ruin my sub titles to say 'the needs improvement'

Other than the aforementioned over sharpened 12mp main lens, I found it can sometimes be TOO sensitive to light and so images can look blown out. I wasn't planning on writing this so have already deleted the photos I didn't think looked great, but as a rough example:

Blown out, poor detail and bright