Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too much noise reduction and sharpness - photos look like Photoshop disasters

(Topic created on: 21-08-2022 10:10 PM)
szfj
Journeyman
Options

First of all, I'm a photographer, therefore the post-production of the photos (in Lightroom) is an important step in my photography. Compared, Samung's automated post processing of photos is at a beginner's level, pulling all sliders to the max.

The problems:

1. Noise reduction is extreme. The result is a photo without fine details, textures are washed into flat pixel islands... - Bad!

2. Sharpness is extreme. Contrast areas have halos around, screaming that the sharpness slider is pulled to the extreme.

Although for many people the Samsung post-processing may seem ok, there is a good percent of people who actually care about the details. There must be a setting for noise reduction and sharpness adjustment:

1. Noise reduction - low, medium, high (default: high to keep silent the non-photographer people)

2. Sharpness - low, medium, high (default: high, for the same reason above)

Regarding the price tag of the S22 Ultra, it produces considerably worse images than an entry level point-and-shoot camera. Engineers at Samsung should be aware of this. A beginner amateur, equipped with a point-and-shoot camera would produce far better images (after watching several Youtube tutorials) than the photo team behind the S22 Ultra. That team should be fired ASAP and a professional photographer's recommendations should be taken in account in the next update of the photo app.

Seriously, Samsung, the photos of all devices look like amateur oil paintings. I have my DSLR camera as well, but again, regarding the price tag, most photographers purchase an S22 to replace their heavy camera in several situations.

A third setting would be