Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Astro phtography with the s24u

(Topic created on: 2 weeks ago)
mb114
Journeyman
Options

This was taken the other day using expert raw and over 4 minutes. It's crazy the think a phone can capture the milky way. Expecially when I have no experience in this field l.
13 REPLIES 13
VikzL
Explorer
Options
Wow, how did you take this? Settings?
0 Likes
Glenntech
Samsung Members Star ★
Options
It's an amazing smartphone.
Just incredible how it's so good now to capture images like this and more.
Mine works great with my telescope as well.
But the astro mode definitely is an impressive feature.
You must still have had a nice dark sky with little light pollution
mb114
Journeyman
Options
I live in the middle of nowhere, so the only challenge I have is the UK weather. I have been looking into getting a telescope with the ability to use a phone. I was wondering if you have any recommendations for new users?
0 Likes
mb114
Journeyman
Options
A lot of the time, you can leave everything on auto, but this one was taken with changing the ISO to the highest setting and playing around with the other settings. It would be worth watching a YouTube video if you're new, as many explain the different settings for this type of night photography.
Glenntech
Samsung Members Star ★
Options
To be honest, research is key with buying telescope equipment and budget.
It can be massively expensive.
Or like my setup, you can go a more affordable route.
Depends on if you want a goto telescope set up. Or like mine, manually do it.
My setup in the link below
https://eu.community.samsung.com/t5/galaxy-s22-series/s22-ultra-astrophotography-part-1/td-p/5199371...

The website below has really good information on equipment
https://meteorwatch.org/equipment/

Also finding your local astronomy centre or club will be a gold mine of information

For me I wanted a goto telescope, but I'd have to compromise on size and type of scope to get.