I think it's a service provider option. I know I couldn't do it back when I had a prepaid account even though my wife and I had the same phone it only worked with her phone that was a regular (non pre paid) account.
Looking further into it, it's definitely on providers side. And it works regardless if the phone is on or not. The settings is available if you have it and is there to control the service.