Did you mean: 

Original topic:

S20 Ultra camera: RAW support?

(Topic created on: 25-03-2020 12:02 PM)
Mistermark
Explorer
Options
Galaxy S20 Series

I'm thinking of upgrading to the S20 Ultra. Being a keen photographer I prefer to shoot RAW/DNG files and not just JPEG. Does anyone know whether this is possible with the S20 Ultra, and whether there are any restrictions on this, such as being unable to use it with certain lenses or shooting modes?

39 REPLIES 39
KirilK
Explorer
Options
Galaxy S20 Series

No RAW option for the wide angle camera. You can use it with Samsung or 3rd party apps to take JPEG.

Real pity that the wide angle and telephoto have no RAW option 

0 Likes
KirilK
Explorer
Options
Galaxy S20 Series

I thought this may be useful to summarize after the ATCH update:

1. RAW is availalbe from main rear and front cameras both with Samsung App and 3rd party apps. The RAW from main camera is 12MP not 108MP (nona-binning is applied before DNG)

2. Rear Wide angle JPEG can be shot with 3rd party apps too

3. Rear telephoto lens can only save JPEG and can only be used from Sasmung's camera app

You can see a set of more technical images I took wiht S20 ultra to see how camera works here https://www.flickr.com/photos/kirilk/albums/72157713487224503

I uploaded a RAW file and processed variants here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/y9sxeh8b1ne2ak1/AAD8fu5k5OC--tJol2euqjOUa?dl=0

My observaitons from photo enthusiasts point of view:

1. Very good zoom option - 0.5x to 10x (12-240 equivalent)

2. Nice option to use phone as binoculars and some lower quality shots in 12-720mm equivalent range.

3. The 720 to 2400mm range (30x to 100x) is rarely useful for photos and stabilization does not work great at those focal lengths

4. Stabiliazaiton is fantastic in the 12-720mm range

5. RAW files from main camera are excellent. It seems phone overexposes those and then in RAW eidtor you have to pull down exposure and amplify contrast/clarity