Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

People distorted around edges of photos - S23 Ultra main camera

(Topic created on: 06-05-2023 01:26 AM)
OzJamie
Apprentice
Options

Whenever group photos are taken using my phone, the people around the edges are stretched. Alternatively, if you try to position your subject towards one side of the photo, they are stretched. The photos look so bad I can't use them for anything. I'm now missing capturing memories.

I have actually gone back to using my S10 Plus for group photos (when I'm at my house and have it handy) so that people look natural and non-stretched.

Everyone keeps talking about how good the S23 ultra camera is. Is there some setting I need to change to prevent image distortion? (I'm not a professional photographer by any means... and just want a good point and shoot group photo.)

Thanks for your help!

12 REPLIES 12
Pugs1957
Samsung Members Star ★
Options
This is typical of wide angle lenses. The wider the lens, the greater the distortion. I don't know the difference between the lenses in the S10 v S23 but clearly there is some.
This doesn't happen in portrait or zoom modes.
Trig007
Apprentice
Options

Noticed this today when I took a photo indoors and someone walked in to shot, the lower half of body was stretched, but sure I wasn't using the ultra wide lens, switched over from a OnePlus Pro 7 and took majority of pictures with ultra wide lens, never had this issue before. Effect is just weird. Samsung needs to fix or it's going to just ruin photos 

OzJamie
Apprentice
Options

The main lens is great for photos of landscapes. However, it can't take photos of groups of people without distorting them. The 3x lens can't handle it either as it's too close up. They need to fix this!

OzJamie
Apprentice
Options

Thanks for your input. Agree, it doesn't happen in Portrait and zoom modes. However, I can't take the group photos I want in those modes. I'm seriously regretting buying this phone now!