Hi there @delpietro7,
As the box was sealed, the phone will be new and unused.
It's likely that the phone needed to be updated when it was new and out of the box. If for some reason it didn't update automatically, performing the reset and restart will have prompted this.
If for any reason you believe the phone has been used previously, we would recommend speaking to your retailer.
Hope this helps!
... View more