Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

How to connect Q90R for Atmos?

(Topic created on: 10-02-2020 07:36 AM)
willzyx
Student
Options

Hello peeps. 

I'm new to 4k and Dolby Atmos and anything TV related (my previous TV was over 9 years old). I understand that QLED TVs don't support Atmos or Vision, but I'm planning to use the Q90R as a panel only. I will watch most of my stuff with Apple TV 4K, Xbox One X and Chromecast Ultra. I will skip all TV built-in apps. I understand that hardware listed above do actually support Atmos and Vision. I'm planning to get an Atmos capable soundbar. 

Is there anyway to connect all the gear to actually get Dolby Atmos and Vision? Do I have to connect them directly to the soundbar and then route it to OneConnect Box? 

0 Likes
48 REPLIES 48
harutyundr
Student
Options

@acidron wrote:

Just checked - it does support atmos  from usb. I've tried Dolby atmos demo files with eac3 audio. Plex app does it too by the way.

IMG_9771.jpg

I am in the middle of ordering Q80 soundbar for my Q90 TV and found this thread with a lot of people complaining that it is almost impossible to get Atmos, so I am worried if the investment is actually worth it. Can you please confirm which setup you are using exactly? Have you used HDMI to connect the TV and the soundbar? Also, does Plex "direct play" the audio from Atmos files or it does any conversion?

I have seen a lot of other messages regarding DTS-X support, I know the built-in player does not support it for sure, but could not find anywhere if Plex can play DTS/DTS-X via soundbar without transcoding. Have you noticed by chance if you can play DTS/DTS-X audio via Plex and if streams audio directly or converts to usual 5.1?

Thanks!

0 Likes
acidron
Apprentice
Options