Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

Galaxy Tab A pin won't work

(Topic created on: 13-10-2019 08:03 PM)
chelseycorea
Apprentice
Options

Our pin for our tablet has randomly stopped working. Every time I enter it, I get a message saying to wait 30 seconds. I held down the power and volume button to get it to reset. Upon resetting it asks for the pin, I enter it, it "verifies" it and the tablet starts up. Then it asks for the pin again (at the login screen) and it doesn't work, says to wait 30 seconds. I'm not tech savvy, so I have no idea what else to do...

58 REPLIES 58
CarlH
Options

Hi @chelseycorea. Do you have a Samsung account linked with your Tab? If so, check out this link which will allow you to unlock and reset the pin (providing there is an internet connection).

chelseycorea
Apprentice
Options

It was, but there's a note on the lock screen now stating that I need to log back in to my Samsung account. I tried to unlock anyways, as well as erase data. Neither worked. It's just weird that my pin is "verified" when I restart it, but it won't log in from the lock screen.

0 Likes
CarlH
Options
0 Likes
chelseycorea
Apprentice
Options

I changed it about 5 days before it stopped working. I know what the password is as I changed it to my phone number to help my son learn the number. And like I said, the password works when I enter it after a soft reset, but it doesn't work at the login screen. I've also tried a hard reset with no luck. I can't turn it off, so can't do the reset. I've tried the volume up+power+home button (as per the internet) and nothing happens...

0 Likes
DaianaRush
First Poster
Options

I had the same issue where the tablet was stuck on lock screen, PIN not working but wasn't getting an error that the PIN was incorrect.

Unable to Power Off or Restart the tablet since it would go back to entering the PIN. Stuck in a loop.

I managed to get into Safe Mode where the PIN did work. To do this: