Close

What are you looking for?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

Original topic:

Profile Sharing on a Samsung J5

(Topic created on: 10-04-2018 07:36 PM)
EMC24
First Poster
Options
Other Smartphones

This will probably sound really stupid but I was texting a friend who has their profile sharing enabled with only one other contact in their phone and I have mine turned off. What does this profile sharing mean, will my friend's other contact be able to see our text messages or content? I know this sounds ridiculous but I was just curious what the profile sharing meant and whether our messages were private.

0 Likes

1 Solution


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Talí
Helping Hand
Options
Other Smartphones
Hi EMC24,

Good question! I had to look it up myself.

Read the following FAQ guide to get a bter understanding of Profile Sharing: http://www.samsung.com/hk_en/support/skp/faq/1074954

As far as I can see the following items will be done via Profile Sharing:
- Show profile image to your friends
- Share HQ videos with friends
- Start a group chat

Also its not mentiond on the FAQ but I think they also use your profile for the "Identify caller" option (if you have this turned on). So if you and your to-call contact both have a profile set up and both have "Identify Caller" turned on you can see his/her name when calling him/her without having them in your contact list.
*-This is not mentioned in the FAQ and is just a thought of mine.

Kind regards,

---------
:white-medium-star:Never gonna give you up!:white-medium-star:
Mvg,
T.K.

View solution in context

1 REPLY 1
Solution
Talí
Helping Hand
Options
Other Smartphones
Hi EMC24,

Good question! I had to look it up myself.

Read the following FAQ guide to get a bter understanding of Profile Sharing: http://www.samsung.com/hk_en/support/skp/faq/1074954

As far as I can see the following items will be done via Profile Sharing:
- Show profile image to your friends
- Share HQ videos with friends
- Start a group chat

Also its not mentiond on the FAQ but I think they also use your profile for the "Identify caller" option (if you have this turned on). So if you and your to-call contact both have a profile set up and both have "Identify Caller" turned on you can see his/her name when calling him/her without having them in your contact list.
*-This is not mentioned in the FAQ and is just a thought of mine.

Kind regards,

---------
:white-medium-star:Never gonna give you up!:white-medium-star:
Mvg,
T.K.

View solution in context