Close

What are you looking for?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Photos in to Google instead of on device

(Topic created on: 02-04-2024 02:41 PM)
2884 Views
adeyjones
First Poster
Options

Hi all, we have a Samsung Galaxy 21 Ultra phone, and it has 120gb storage. Unfortunately the storage is full, 70gb of it is photos and videos in the gallery.

We have signed up for Google photos space and started backing everything up to that, and are confident that if we delete a photo from the device, it will be retained in Google Photos - that bit is fine - we will eventually clear out all photos in the gallery and view in Google Photos going forward.

But from this point, any photos or videos taken from the camera will still save to the device (as well as auto backing up to Google Photos) - is there any way to prevent this to save duplication? Don't want to have to keep going in and clearing them out.

Thanks for your help.

0 Likes
5 REPLIES 5
Robin999
Samsung Members Star ★
Options
I don't think you can. Take a photo and it automatically gets saved to internal storage/DCIM/camera.
0 Likes
Glenntech
Samsung Members Star ★★
Options
The Google Photos is a third party backup place to store Photos.
When you take an image, it's gets saved and then software process's the image.
If you didn't have an Internet connection or poor reception, a photo you take wouldn't get saved on the third party servers.
Plus to get photos directly saved to Google Photos, would require various other privacy permissions that would be a bit intrusive anyway. Think Google is intrusive enough really
GoanGeek
Samsung Members Star ★
Options
Google photos have an option where it automatically deletes the phone photos when they have been uploaded to Google photos.

1. It's actually better to retain the photos on your phone even when they have been uploaded to Google photos.

2. Make sure you upload in full resolution to Google photos.
Yes, you will have to get more storage, but it's better.
"WI-FI went down for five minutes, so I had to talk to my family.
They seem like nice people"
0 Likes
TechZilla
Samsung Members Star ★
Options
I would personally just manually check every month which photos have been backed up and then bulk delete them from your gallery on your phone. The phone will automatically tell you which ones you can delete.
TechZilla - Samsung Members Star
facu1ty
Pathfinder
Options
Transfer everything onto Google photos. Then reset your phone. Whatever picture or video you'll need, you can just download from Google photos. I've done this myself.
0 Likes