Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samsung Email app update security settings

(Topic created on: 05-02-2023 05:03 PM)
MDTat
Apprentice
Options

Hi,

I've been using the Samsung Email app for a few months without any problems. However, today, I couldn't access my university email without activating some new security settings. This involves allowing the app to delete all data on my phone, lock the screen, set password rules, disable internet, encrypt my data, etc. These are all very intrusive things, and since it's my personal phone I can't accept this.

I contacted the university IT support, and they say it's the email app itself that requests this, not the university. I as therefore wondering if anyone else have similar problems, and is there a fix, other than using a different app, or setting everything up again from scratch?

Thank you!

19 REPLIES 19
MDTat
Apprentice
Options

Hi, thanks for the info. I agree with you, it's the Samsung app itself that's being pathetic. When I had a closer look at the app info on Google Play, I realised the latest version required some (very intrusive) permissions that other email apps didn't require. Personally I don't like the Outlook design, so I moved to Gmail, and it gets the job done without any hiccups.

Karyn15
First Poster
Options

I am having the same issue! 

0 Likes
Stew1954
First Poster
Options

For some time now the Samsung email app when it updates on my TabA stops working. When I role it back to the original app it works fine. I've switched off the Google auto update but even that doesn't stop the app from automatically updating from time to time. So I uninstall the update and reset my email accounts. Samsung can you just fix the app for the TabA it's getting very very annoying.

0 Likes
FabriceJC
First Poster
Options

Just found out the problem and the solution.

The problem: Samsung password update and new account creation from the email client is faulty