Close

What are you looking for?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samsung Fold 5 account completely wiped?

(Topic created on: 24-05-2024 08:29 AM)
109 Views
Dylz
Apprentice
Options
Bit of a long one but here goes:

Driving into work this morning with phone in my pocket, got to work and my phone has completely wiped itself to factory default? Unsure to why it has done this, I thought it might have updated to the new UI 6.0 but I'm still on 5.1.1. Tried to restore phone, it's restored a lot of things but my main concern is it hasn't restored any of my gallery photos or videos.

I'm going to get in touch with Samsung when the live chat is open at 8am but has this ever happened to anyone before? I didn't ask it to Factory reset itself and I'm almost certain it normally prompts you to enter a password before I can actually reset? 
0 Likes
5 REPLIES 5
keith30
Mastermind
Options
If you haven't backed up your photos before a factory reset then you'll probably lost them if they not in cloud or Google Photo's backups. I would have thought your device would have been on Android 14 ui6 by now as Ui 6.1 is rolling out to the fold models
0 Likes
Dylz
Apprentice
Options
I understand that but why did it reset by itself? I didn't authorise it? And yes there's that also, not sure why I haven't received the UI6.0 yet
0 Likes
keith30
Mastermind
Options
I'm not sure why it reset as it has never happened to me the all time I've been using my devices. Maybe speaking with Samsung support may be able to advise you. You may be able to update to Ui6 but you need to use a PC and download with the smart switch connection to your device from the computer if they are updates available to update the Fold.
0 Likes
AndrewL
Moderator
Moderator
Options

@Dylz: I'm sorry to hear that you have encountered this issue. I'm not sure why your Galaxy Fold5 has reset itself to factory settings although it is possible, as your phone was in your pocket, that you were pocket dialing the lock screen, and made 20 incorrect attempts to unlock the device (If you have Settings > Lock screen > Secure lock settings > Auto factory reset activated).

If you re-register the Google account that was on the device previously, then swipe up from your Home screen > Google (folder) > Photos, you should find an archive of your images and videos here. If you had a OneDrive backup, head to the Gallery app > Tap the 3 lines in the bottom right > Settings > Sync with OneDrive, and follow the on-screen prompts. 

0 Likes
Dylz
Apprentice
Options
Hi Andrew, it could be very possible that I was pocket dialling, it's hard to say really. However I have checked that setting to see if it was on but its not so I haven't a clue.

I had my gallery all backed up on the OneDrive but when I try and Sync it, it doesn't have any backed up files. So it's looking like I've lost all of my gallery 🙃 200 GB worth of photos and videos.
0 Likes