Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

S21 gets hot - closes multi-window

(Topic created on: 31-01-2021 10:25 AM)
Rik07
Pioneer
Options

When I am video calling and simultaneously browsing the web, my phone keeps over-heating and closing the small multi-window video feed. The brightness is always below 40%, I have very few apps open, and am indoors away from direct sunlight. The phone is brand new, can anyone assist?

this is what is happening to my device, except i am video calling instead of playing videos. https://youtu.be/Hrq62ni9cWo

have sent for a replacement.

25 REPLIES 25
Thekidman96
Navigator
Options
Hello, sometime video calling is a high demanding task, phones get hot while doing this, adding another task on top can't be too healthy, that being said I'm not a professional.
0 Likes
Rik07
Pioneer
Options

Hi @Thekidman96, this is true; however, I didn't have this issue on my previous phone (Samsung Galaxy S8), so am wondering why this issue is present in the newer model?

0 Likes
Thekidman96
Navigator
Options
Well I've got the s21 ultra and noticed it gets hot for the first couple of days, now it doesn't really get hot only slightly warm while doing high demanding tasks, I'm assuming this is because the phone is learning your usage patterns, maybe give it a few days to learn about you, this might be the case, another thing is, make sure your phone software is up to date, and your apps, both from Google play and galaxy store.
0 Likes
Rik07
Pioneer
Options

@TheKidman96, this could be true, will see how it copes over the next few days. Curiously, could the thickness/material of the phone case I have be a factor? Am using this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Spigen-Armor-Compatible-Samsung-Galaxy/dp/B08LKRJ3KD?ref_=ast_sto_dp

0 Likes
Thekidman96
Navigator
Options
My phone has improved drastically since I got it on Tuesday 26th, battery and temperature.