Close

What are you looking for?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Original topic:

Saving edited photos

(Topic created on: 14-05-2020 05:57 PM)
Owain1
First Poster
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

When editing photos, it always saves as a copy. Is there a way to stop this as it takes up memory on my phone. I dont want to keep the originals just the edited photos, or at least have the choice. Is there a way to change this in settings. I'm new to Samsung after always having an iPhone where it was easier to navigate 

14 REPLIES 14
AndrewL
Moderator
Moderator
Options
Galaxy S10 Series
@Owain1: As far as I know, if you edit an image and save it, it will always save as a separate 'copy' and keep the original. Although it's not ideal, you will need to go back into your Gallery and manually delete the original version. Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause you.
0 Likes
Owain1
First Poster
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

That's frustrating, yeah that's what I currently do at the moment but it's just a tedious task. Thanks for your reply

Attikai
First Poster
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

This is happening to me as well. My old Samsung S8+ would overwrite the photo but there was an option to save as copy. With my new Samsung S20+ I have no option I have to save it as a copy. I adjust almost every photo I take. This means my photos will be taking up twice the space. Please give us an option to overwrite by default and the option to save as a copy. 

chuckjbt
Apprentice
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

 I like that feature, I've always relied on it. I want my phone to save each iteration and let me decide to keep them or not keep them. But I received an update to my s20+ yesterday and now when i edit the originals are nowhere to be found, just the new edit. They're not in the trash or recently deleted. Is there a setting somewhere to go back to the way it was??

nohkul
First Poster
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

Same here. I like that it created a copy so I can edit the original. Got the latest update on my S20+ to Android 11 and now it overwrites and I lose the original. 😡

chuckjbt
Apprentice
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

I've been through the entire phone trying to find a way to turn this back on or whatever.

0 Likes
Chdafo
First Poster
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

Good Morning, 

I had just had a panic attack about this same thing, when I had just read that it did that now.   I saw in the Upgrade details that now you can always revert back to the original.  Figured it out...Open picture,  click EDIT,  click REVERT at top.

EG100
First Poster
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

That works!!!  Sucks it doesn't just auto save anymore,  but at least you can get the original back. Thought I had lost them forever since the upgrade last week. Whew. Thank you!!!! 

windleaf
First Poster
Options
Galaxy S10 Series

Top right corner of the save page there are 3 dots, click it and choose "save copy" you'll have a new copy other than original.