Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

Phone number and Outlook Contact name

(Topic created on: 19-07-2022 05:32 PM)
IslandBoy
Journeyman
Options

I have an Outlook email app on my PC desktop (for many years). I have an Office 365 subscription (also for many years). I have installed the official Outlook app on my Samsung Galaxy S10. I have selected Auto sync data under Manage Accounts in Settings. The email syncs fine. The calendar syncs fine. BUT when I use the phone app to dial a known number, it doesn't identify the person / contact. 

The only way I can resolve this is to save the number on the phone as a new contact. That creates a new record (somewhere) and in future, the contact name does appear when a phone call comes from or is made to the person. But this implies having to recreate ALL my Outlook contacts one at a time on my phone. This is rubbish and an unnecessary duplication of effort. 

How can I get my phone to recognise my contacts from Outlook? I've just spent over 30 mins on the useless chat and have given up.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Badger42
Helping Hand
Options
When you open the Outlook app, if you press the home icon in the top left you will see the setting icon appear at the bottom left which allows you to see which accounts you have set up in outlook e.g Outlook 365 personal in my case and then you should have something like the attached screenshot.Screenshot_20220720-174921_Outlook_4649_1658336084.jpg

View solution in context

5 REPLIES 5
Badger42
Helping Hand
Options
Have you also checked in the outlook app on the phone, you have the sync contact set for the 365 account, as this syncs with the Android contact app?
0 Likes
IslandBoy
Journeyman
Options