Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samsung Galaxy Note 20 Ultra - Terrible Coverage

(Topic created on: 09-11-2021 11:25 PM)
Anonymous User
Not applicable
Options

I have a Samsung Galaxy Note 20 Ultra 5G and I'm having problems with signal strength, literally everywhere.

I travel around the UK quite a bit, and no matter where I am I always find the Vodafone coverage to be VERY poor, usually 1 or 2 bars of 4G at best. In major cities like Liverpool and Manchester, I can find myself outside with no signal at all. I have been cursing Vodafone for many months about this, and assumed it was their garbage network. Usually most of the areas where I get no or poor signal, actually are shown on the Vodafone coverage map as Excellent.

However I have discovered using a Vodafone sim in a cheap $200 chinese smartphone, it appears to have much better siganl strength. I been using an app called "Signal Strength" which shows all the cell towers in the area, and the signal strength to them. Usually the cheaper chinese phone always reports better signal, usually around 10 dBm better.

Why is my Note 20 signal so poor, and how can this be fixed?

0 Likes
6 REPLIES 6
BandOfBrothers
Samsung Members Star ★★
Options

Hi @Anonymous User 

I once owned the Samsung Note 20 Ultra 5G which was the Exynos soc and purchased from Samsung UK.

I had network connection problems with this phone and so ended up sending the phone back to Samsung UK for a refund. I then ended up importing the same phone from Hong Kong which was the SnapDragon version, and that one was much better all round.

Obviously I'm not suggesting you should go down the same route.

Your phone should connect as it was designed to do.

Maybe let a Samsung Experience Store  / Samsung Service Centre have a look at it.

Trying your sim card in another phone is definitely a good generic troubleshooting option.

Also consider that this might be the fault of your sim card as the chip can develop glitches.