Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smart tag notifications for safe place

(Topic created on: 27-01-2023 10:02 PM)
Loz20000
Explorer
Options

Hi there, I can’t seem to find an answer on this anywhere so was hoping for some guidance. I have been using a Smart Tag plus for a few months but recently when I leave my house (marked as a safe space) I get an alert to say the tag is not near me. This seems to be the opposite of the feature. I have tried resetting the tag and my safe spaces (I have 2) but still keep getting an alert.

thanks in advance 

17 REPLIES 17
Loz20000
Explorer
Options
It's supposed to notify you when you're out of its range unless it's in a place you have set as a safe place, IE it doesn't notify you
0 Likes
AB3000
Explorer
Options

Me also! I have several SmartTag+ devices with two marked 'Notify when left behind' but also with home as a safe place and everytime I leave I get a notification for each. For a while I had this fixed but then it came back. I did several things including clearing cache but of course it's tricky to test because you have to go out of range.

Do you by any chance have a second phone or tablet with them registered on that device's Smartthings? If so, is that device always/typically with the tags when the notification goes off and what version of Android are both devices working on?.It's just a theory I'm working on. 

0 Likes
Loz20000
Explorer
Options
Just the one device. Although I've started to wonder if whether taking that device with me when I get the notification is what triggers the alert. IE it's no longer connected to the network
0 Likes
AB3000
Explorer
Options

Presumably though, that one device that you take with you is the device that it would notify you on anyway? Or have I misunderstood?

In my case, the period when it worked properly was the same as when it hasn't in terms of what hardware is taken with me and what is not.