Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Galaxy Tab S2 9.7 screen dims and switches off

(Topic created on: 25-09-2017 06:02 AM)
X2
Apprentice
Options

I am a newbie, so excuse the detail...

Purchased Tab S2 9.7 in Feb 2017. (SM T813)

Issue of screen dimming and just before switching off whilst still in use began soon after purchase, but I contacted Support in June 2017.

Was told this was a problem with Marshmallow and would get resolved on new Android update?

Diagnostic at the time was putting Tab in safe mode for an hour.....

Sept 2017 - This issue has got progressively worse, with the Tablet shutting off much more often now - eg. whilst watching BBCiplayer, or switching between windows etc....does not appear to be linked to when being recharged, battery life remaining, number of apps open (sometims when only 2 open!) etc...

What have i done so far? ....from sprint support website, the following:-

1. Closed all background apps

2. Removed and reinserted the SD card (safely).

3. Performed a soft reset.

4. Checked if low on memory (Not low)

5. Cleared cache

6. Checked software updated (current version is T813XXS2BQG3/T813BTU2BQD1/

Issue recurs after haveing done all the above!! lots of simlar complaints on Sprint website (US?), but most appear to have been resolved, from what I can make out  -

Can anyone help me, PLEASE? !!

8 REPLIES 8
BandOfBrothers
Samsung Members Star ★★
Options

Hello @X2

If this was my device I’d Back-Up and Factory Reset. 

If that didn’t help then a Samsung Service Location or Samsung Experience Store will be able to run diagnostics on it. 

Daily Driver > Samsung Galaxy s²⁴ Ultra 512Gb ~ Titanium Black.

The advice I offer is my own and does not represent Samsung’s position.
I'm here to help. " This is the way. "

X2
Apprentice
Options

Thank you for the advice/direction #BandOfBrothers Voyager. Much appreciated!

BandOfBrothers
Samsung Members Star ★★
Options

You’re Welcome and I wish you all the best @X2

X2
Apprentice
Options