Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TV Plus

(Topic created on: 26-08-2018 02:27 PM)
poppasmurf
First Poster
Options

I've just bought a new Samsung UHD TV.  It has an annoying TV Plus app which I don't want as it's only trying to sell me something I don't want, and I cannot seem to delete.  I keeps coming back.

Anyone any ideas?  

313 REPLIES 313
JDP
First Poster
Options

Doesn't work - Samsung - when can we expect a fix? 

0 Likes
JDP
First Poster
Options
This sucks - Samsung, please fix!
0 Likes
Madasahat
Voyager
Options

Read through the thread the answer is there

0 Likes
qbuster
Apprentice
Options

Sorry, but it is nonsense to say that as TVplus is inbuilt into Freeview that it can't be changed. 

All Smart TV s are run by software and software is written by developers. As a former software developer myself, I would expect that it would be a couple of hours work at the most to write a function that enabled the removal of TV Plus.

The issue preventing Samsung developers from writing in such functionality is likely not to be technical complexity but commercial pressure. The dominating presence of TV Plus is likely to be subject to a hefty Contract that adds a lot of £000000's in revenue to Samsung/Freeview.

Any skills software hackers (I retired 25 years ago) out there that could put together a fix? 

0 Likes
thepharcyde
Apprentice
Options

So the fix detailed in this thread does not work for me as I only use Netflix/Prime TV with no terrestrial connection.

What I did is block Rakuten TV, this can be done at the router level or like me I have OpenDNS to block all other inappropriate content out there.  Adding the following blocks all background movie previews.

Hope this helps anyone else in my situation.

prod-tvplus-pmd.akamai.cdn.rakuten.tv

qbuster
Apprentice
Options

Sadly, when I looked at my Anynet settings (System, Expert I think) it was already switched off so that isn't the ultimate answer.......

0 Likes
qbuster
Apprentice