Did you mean: 
Go to solution Solved

How to connect Q90R for Atmos?

(Topic created on: 21-10-2019 05:17 AM)
willzyx
Student
Options

Hello peeps. 

I'm new to 4k and Dolby Atmos and anything TV related (my previous TV was over 9 years old). I understand that QLED TVs don't support Atmos or Vision, but I'm planning to use the Q90R as a panel only. I will watch most of my stuff with Apple TV 4K, Xbox One X and Chromecast Ultra. I will skip all TV built-in apps. I understand that hardware listed above do actually support Atmos and Vision. I'm planning to get an Atmos capable soundbar. 

Is there anyway to connect all the gear to actually get Dolby Atmos and Vision? Do I have to connect them directly to the soundbar and then route it to OneConnect Box? 

0 Likes
48 REPLIES 48
m-oc
Navigator
Options

Well I can't be sure but I suspect the TV can't play Atmos from the USB source. It maybe only works for the built in apps (eg Netflix) and from HDMI sources. 

As for optical, this does not support Atmos. 

0 Likes
paul1277
Black Belt 
Options

@ilkeraktuna wrote:

what does this mean :

"The Q90 does support Dolby Atmos encoded Dolby Digital Plus signals, and is able to receive them from native apps or by HDMI, and is able to send to a Dolby Atmos capable soundbar via HDMI-ARC"

I have a Q70R and when I connect my Atmos supporting receiver (Denon AVR-X3500H) through HDMI_ARC, TV recognizes that it supports Atmos.

However, when I play an atmos encoded movie on USB, my receiver receives Dolby Digital surround signal, not Atmos.

If I play the same movie on my Shield TV , receiver receives Atmos signal.

So what is wrong ?

Is it about the cable carrying ARC ? (I used a HDMI 2.0 cable)

I also tested same with Optic cable and optic input on the receiver. But the result did not change. (No Atmos signal on receiver)