Support

Open search

Removing phones from my Samsung Account

Highlighted
SOLVED
New Member

My son's phone died, so I gave him my previous Galaxy something or other ... A3 I think it was ...  that worked fine with his Sim card in the UK. Now he has left home and is in Australia, and I gave him an even older one ... S3 Mini I think it is.... so he could fit a local SIM card for local use. Got  a message from him saying Samsung said he had to enter my Samsung Account and could he have the password. Samsung message said he had to deactivate the account (he wants to restore factory settings - that makes good sense ... I think he did the same on the UK one). Well, I had forgotten about this Account, and it took a while for me to remember the password - I never use it and never log on - but got there in the end, and lo and behold there were 4 items - the 2 phones mentioned above that I gave to him, plus my current J3 and a Note 10.1.

So I removed the 2 phones that I gave to him, but haven't heard from him a few days later. Can someone please tell me:

1. Did I take the right steps so that he can use the Mini in Oz?

2. Why did the UK one work OK and get reset by him in the UK without my having to remove it from the account?

3. Will removing the UK one from my Account impede its functionality?

and

4. (particularly worrying) Why did I get a warning message from Google saying someone had attempted to use my password to my *Google* mail account and that they had blocked access? They seeemd to know it was in Australia.

 

Thanks folks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AntS Moderator
Moderator

Hi SamsungSelim! :smileyhappy:

 

As long as the S3 Mini’s been used for a minimum 5 minutes of calltime with a UK SIM before then  you’ll be able to use it with any international SIM, so your son should be okay with it Down Under.

 

A factory reset will remove the Samsung Account from the phone, which will prompt registering or skipping that part of the setup. It won’t impede the functionality, but we’d recommend having a Samsung Account associated with the phone for all the goodies such as Galaxy Apps, S Health and backup options.

 

The Google message was highly likely due to the phone with your Google Account on it being used, it using the GPS location of the phone to say roughly where the access was attempted, and identifying it as unusual activity on the account. Google Accounts can be removed from the phone, but we’d always recommend having one on it to make use of the Play Store.

 

Also, just to add, if the phone’s running Lollipop (or higher), has a Google Account on it, along with a security lock (PIN or password), and a reset is carried out, then this’ll trigger the Factory Reset Protection (FRP) feature. The details of that Google Account would need to be input at that stage to get back in.

 

Hope this helps! 


Prince_Community_Sig03.jpg

 Say "Hello!" to the Community in The Introduce Yourself Thread.


1 REPLY 1
AntS Moderator
Moderator

Hi SamsungSelim! :smileyhappy:

 

As long as the S3 Mini’s been used for a minimum 5 minutes of calltime with a UK SIM before then  you’ll be able to use it with any international SIM, so your son should be okay with it Down Under.

 

A factory reset will remove the Samsung Account from the phone, which will prompt registering or skipping that part of the setup. It won’t impede the functionality, but we’d recommend having a Samsung Account associated with the phone for all the goodies such as Galaxy Apps, S Health and backup options.

 

The Google message was highly likely due to the phone with your Google Account on it being used, it using the GPS location of the phone to say roughly where the access was attempted, and identifying it as unusual activity on the account. Google Accounts can be removed from the phone, but we’d always recommend having one on it to make use of the Play Store.

 

Also, just to add, if the phone’s running Lollipop (or higher), has a Google Account on it, along with a security lock (PIN or password), and a reset is carried out, then this’ll trigger the Factory Reset Protection (FRP) feature. The details of that Google Account would need to be input at that stage to get back in.

 

Hope this helps! 


Prince_Community_Sig03.jpg

 Say "Hello!" to the Community in The Introduce Yourself Thread.


Top Liked Authors