Support

Open search

New to Samsung and Android - Do i need antivirus software?

SOLVED

HI guys, I'm brand new to Samsung and Android; having converted from Apple and iPhone the question i ask is do I need anti virus software? The device I now own is the Note 8?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Superuser I
Superuser I

@Lilsaint

At the end of the day what Security we implement on our phones is a personal preference. 

My personal preference is not not use any Security Anti-Virus Apps and have chosen not to activate the phones onboard Samsung option. 

In my opinion these are resource hungry in the phone and are not a must. 

They do however give peace of mind to the person when using the phone. 

Like many I've read pieces on malware attacks etc but in all my years have not been hit nor have I engaged with anyone who has. Some think they may have been but it's turned out to be something else. 

One rule of thumb is not to let your phone out of your sight so no one has unauthorised access. 

Don't use public wifi for sensitive work such as internet banking or sites that require you to sign in using a password. Don't use the same passwords for all your logins because if a unscrupulous person gets hold of one they'll try to use that for other sites.  

Do not navigate to anywhere using short cut links from within emails or text messages. Even if they look legit. Instead use Google to your wanted login page. 

Be wary of using links on pages you visit. 

Current Phone ~

Samsung Note 9 Model: SM-N960 Dual Hybrid 512Gb_ Samsung One Ui / Pie.

Samsung Gear s3 Frontier Watch
Samsung Galaxy Tab A {2016}SM-T580

18 REPLIES 18
First Poster
not as long as you stick to official sources for apps
Voyager

Hi buddy your device as built it security I use an s7 edge and have not come across any issues 

1 don't click on unsolicited emails looks 

2 stay within galaxy apps and the playstore