Support

Open search

Cell Standby/Android System/Google Play Services battery drain for Oreo on S7

Explorer

Guys, sorry for my questions, but I'm a noob as it comes to using not original firmware.

1. Will it void the warranty? My S7 edge is only a month old.

2. What firmware should I choose? I mean thanks to VSiam I know that I have to flash ERG2, but can it be from another country, as in my there's only ERD6 available? And do I have to flash only modem or the whole firmware? Thanks for answers.

Explorer

ERG2 modem for G930F (Flat):

https://anonfile.com/s5VeEbfeb5/CP_G930FXXU2ERG2_CP10089541_CL13895453_QB18811252_REV00_user_low_shi...

ERG2 modem for G935F (Edge):

https://anonfile.com/ZcYdE5fcbf/CP_G935FXXU2ERG2_CP10089532_CL13895453_QB18810069_REV00_user_low_shi...

@Joakim, You need to flash 1 file only. You will not trigger Knox or lose warranty as long as you flash original not modified files. But after flashing different modem you will not receive OTA updates until you revert it back. Also JFI if you flash different Bootloader, your firmware will change status from Official to Custom and Samsung Pay/Secure Folder/Health... will refuse to work, again until you revert bootloader back.

Flashing instructions at sammobile.com are pretty straightforward. You'll need to install drivers first:

https://developer.samsung.com/galaxy/others/android-usb-driver-for-windows (install, reboot, connect phone)

Entering Download mode is VOLUME DOWN + HOME BUTTON + POWER

Highlighted
Apprentice

Screenshot_20180805-141724_Settings.jpg

Screenshot_20180805-141806_Software update.jpg

With the last patch of July....40% cell standby, WTF!!!!???

Navigator

It seems that you firmware with July patch does not include erg2 modem.

But about 4 hours screen on - is that so bad for your phone ? (Assuming that you are mostly on mobile data).

Regards

Oliver

Apprentice

is there any way to downgrade the update?