Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samsung Health - Recommended Calorie Intake Calculation

(Topic created on: 17-07-2019 04:39 PM)
BigDog69
First Poster
Options

Edit:

For the sake of completeness, I'm going to add the devices I use.

Phone: Galaxy S8+

Watch: Gear S2 Classic

Original Message:

I am struggling to figure out how the S Health app calculates its recommended daily calorie intake. I am new to this, so lets go on a journey. Hopefully I will find an answer along the way.

To start with, here are my profile settings:

Uno.png

Sex: Male

Height: 5' 10"

Weight: 195 pounds

Activity Level: Sedentary

I also popped into the weight management section and set the following targets.

Dos.png

Starting Weight: 195lbs

Target Weight: 170lbs

Weekly Weight Loss Target: -1lbs

Initially, these settings gave me values in the range of 1750 calories a day to lose weight, and 2300ish to maintain. Fast forward several hours. I check in with the app and notice that my target calorie intake goal is now floating at around 2500 calories, with 2790 calories to maintain weight. More on this in a moment.

I dug around for a bit and couldn't figure out why the value had changed, so I decided to try erasing all of my data and starting again to see what would happen.

Tres.png

I set up my profile and weight management settings as previously shown, and get a similar initial recommended calorie intake at around 1750/2300 calories to lose/maintain weight. Great, these values seem to align roughly with what I can find online for a person of my age, weight and lifestyle.

I wander outside for breakfast, logging my coffee and muffin in the food section.

Catre.jpg

I also connect my neglected Gear S2 to the phone and decide to go for a jog. A few kilometers later and I'm back home. I decide to dive into the workout breakdown that my Gear recorded and sent to the phone.

Five.png

Neat. But wait.

Six.jpg

Oh, it's happening again.

Sept.jpg