Support

Open search

how to change colour of text messages

First Poster

How do I change the colour of text messages background of white and blue for the actual messages.

I can't seem to find any where to do it

33 REPLIES 33
Highlighted
AndrewL Moderator
Hi @tiddy

You can change the background of the Messaging app by opening the app > tapping the 3 dots in the top right > Settings > Background. If you would like to change the colour of the conversation bubbles then I recommend checking out Settings > Wallpaper and Themes > Themes.
First Poster
I have no background option in there.
Superuser I
Superuser I

Hi @tiddy

You could try another texting app such as textra..

That or use another launcher such as Nova Prime etc that may offer further customisation. 

Current Phone ~

Samsung Note 9 Model: SM-N960 Dual Hybrid 512Gb_ Samsung One Ui / Pie.

Samsung Gear s3 Frontier Watch
Samsung Galaxy Tab A {2016}SM-T580

Explorer

Why tf would you suggest someone install a janky, non proprietary launcher, degrading the entire user experience of your devic,  just because you cant change the background color within a messaging app? Thats like replacing the factory rims on a Bentley with a set of ghetto aftermarket rims that are the wrong size just because the factory ones dont come in gold. Smh

AntS Moderator

Some peeps just wanna pimp their ride, @Relle. Different strokes for different folks and all that. 

Prince_Community_Sig03.jpg

Say "Hello!" to the Community in The Introduce Yourself Thread.

Explorer

So Come on samsung why can we not on the S9/S9+ not do a basic setting that is in all your previous phones ?

when challanged all they come up with is there them store as they hope were going to rush out and buy one NOT!!!

here is a List of features they have removed and why

1. SMS customization ( Background and Bubble colour)

2. 360 Spear photo add on for the camera ( there anser is they have some more hardware to buy )